B: Birthday layouts

These layouts are part of the 26 letters, 26 weekends project me and my sister, Hope, is currently doing. Here is my take on our “B” week.

Five months after Zach’s first birthday and I’m finally done scrapping the photos for his album. I’m so glad to finally cross this out of my long list of photos to scrap. 🙂

Here is the first page: A Royal Birthday

a-royal-birthday

I usually plan my LOs ahead of time but with this one I just let go and went with the flow and I guess it turned out OK. 🙂

This is the first time I used black and white photos, I’ve seen it being used a number of times and the effect appeals to me. I decided to do it here to draw attention on the smaller photos and also to make my page less busy than it already is.

Up close:

a-royal-birthday1

a-royal-birthday2

a-royal-birthday3

I like the outcome of this LO, it’s a nice break from all the linear pages I’ve been doing lately.

Journaling :

My baby, I can’t believe it has been ONE year since the first time I saw you. It has been amazing watching you grow. You’re such a charmer and you rule my life like a KING that you are!

I’m looking forward to the years ahead, knowing you will fill my life with LOVE, LAUGHTER and HAPPINESS!

Love u always,
Mommy

Materials:
Bazzill Basics Cardstock
Chatterbox, Statue Plaid Patterned Paper
Making Memories {Note}worthy Journaling card
DCWV Paper Flowers
Buttons & brads
Ribbon

Tools:
Cuttlebug
EK Success Cutter Bee Circle Scissor
EK Success Image Tree Clear Stamps
StazOn and ColorBox Ink Pads
ZOTS clear adhesive dots & Tombow tape runner

2-Page LO: Party Time

party-time

With this LO I started with a sketch, I usually do, ‘coz it makes scrapping easier if I have a “blueprint” to work on. Then I determined the sizes and the number of photos I’m going to use. I resized each photo using Photoshop and printed it all at the same time and then after that I just cut and paste everything.

I framed my photos using a brown paper which I punched with Threading Water to separate the colors from the background paper. For the title, my original plan was to make a banner on the left page and paste the letters P-A-R-T-Y, but then when I tried it, it just looks too cluttered that I changed my plan and placed the title on one spot and somehow it balances the vertical line you see on the right page.

party-time1

To finish the page, I just added a few embellishments and my journaling.

Journaling:

Your first birthday party was a blast! Everyone was there to celebrate it with us; Tito Jun even came home from Singapore just to be with you.
All of us worked hard to make your party extra special! Grandpa and grandma also played a big part to make your party possible! That’s how much we all love and adore you.

Materials:
DCWV Cardstocks
DCWV Spring Collection Patterned Paper
My Mind’s Eye Paper (brown & stripe)
ASS Chipboard embellishments
Buttons & ribbon

Tools:
FISKARS Threading Water border punch
Hero Arts clear stamp
StazOn and ColorBox ink pads

Last page: TOY HEAVEN

toy-heaven3

With this LO, I wanted to convey the fun Zach had when he opened his gifts. In choosing lively colors on my page I am able to communicate that feeling.

I printed a large photo (Noticed the red spot on Zach face? Well, that happened due to my carelessness. I was cleaning my scraptuary and I accidentally put the baby wipes against it. Now I have to reprint the whole darn thing) 😦 as my focal point and added 3 smaller photos that show Zach’s emotions. I matted the photos to separate it from the colors of the background paper.

When I started this LO, this is what it looks like…

toy-heaven2

I had to scrap it coz’ it’s just too much and I need to simplify it. (This is what happens if I don’t work with a sketch. I spend a lot of time changing the look of my LO).

toy-heaven1

To finish it off I just added the wooden truck where I wrote my journaling, a few die cut circles and ribbon.

Journaling:

We opened you gifts a day after your birthday. You had fun checking out your new toys and of course you had to “taste” everything when you got the chance. It was great seeing you so excited as you sat in the middle of your own TOY HEAVEN!

Supplies:
DCWV Glittered Patterned Paper
MME Pattered Paper
Provo Craft Wooden Embellishment
Karen Foster Squishies
DCWV ribbon

That’s it for my “B” week. Do drop by again to check out our “C” week. C yah!

One Response to “B: Birthday layouts”

  1. june portugal Says:

    cool layout dearie!

Leave a Reply

